Thai Coconut Lemongrass Soup

This was an unexpected post. A friend had mentioned making a version of this soup and as a lover of all Thai foods that I’ve ever tried (mostly in a restaurant. A few at home, although I’m not certain as to authenticity. I try.) I knew I had to make this. So I searched Pinterest and looked at several recipes before combining ideas and coming up with this one. And I planned to use my essential oils in this pot of yumminess.

Thaisouprec1

When using essential oils in cooking, know that the benefits of the oils will be lost upon heating them, but the flavor will be full and fresh. One drop of each oil is all that is needed. I did accidentally drop in two of lime. I’d prefer one, but it wasn’t overwhelmingly limey. And as always, I only recommend using Young Living essential oils for cooking.

thai lemongrass soup la quotidienne

 

I grow my own basil in the summer and make much of it into pesto (sans cheese) which I freeze in tablespoon-sized portions. It is the one garden item I have the most success with and I’m content in that. Having a supply of pesto through the winter makes me happy. I used one of these in place of fresh basil, so it did have some olive oil and garlic in the soup that weren’t in the ingredient list. (You can see a glimpse of that frozen pesto scoop in the recipe photo.) I don’t usually have fresh limes, but I keep a bottle of Santa Cruz Organic lime juice in the fridge. And a little jar of Thai Kitchen Red Curry Paste will last a long time. Just a bit of it is very flavorful and spicy. I used some Hen of the Woods mushrooms that my dad found last fall. They are earthy and flavorful. Regular button mushrooms would work as well. Canned broth is fine. I often have frozen bone broth that I make from whole chickens that I’ve roasted. I do believe that the flavor is fuller with homemade broth, but to not make this soup because you don’t have that would be a sad story. And as always the above amounts are approximate. Unless I am baking, I usually measure by eye.

2 comments

    1. I only recommend using Young Living Essential Oils for ingestion because of the Seed-to-Seal promise and their quality control and then you must be sure it is an oil that is safe to ingest. Not all oils are meant to for ingestion.

Any thoughts?

