How do you wash your face? part I

A similar question came up in an email conversation I was having with a good friend. (Yes. We still email and talk on the phone. We occasionally do the modern form of communication–texting, but there is something comforting about the voice of a friend.) The question was–how do my boys, 11 and 9, wash their face at night. Well, that was a good question because they didn’t have a regular face wash routine. Occasionally I’d remind them to wash their face with a warm washcloth–just water–but they are getting to the age where their complexion needs a daily cleansing routine. So I promised that I would come up with something. I gathered together some ingredients after reading through some DIY recipes on Pinterest and made up my own proportions.

facewashingred

This has become The Boys’ Face Wash. And we are working on it becoming habit each night after brushing their teeth. The best part is how my boys smell fresh and clean–lemongrassy–when I kiss them each night! If your child’s (or your) skin is a bit more oily, you could add melaleuca alternifolia (tea tree oil) a few drops at a time. I was out and lemongrass is my favorite. Life Science Publishers Essential Oil Desk Reference describes lemongrass as purifying and a help in reducing bacteria. (p. 124, 6th ed.) Lavender is just all-around lovely and useful. It is calming, promotes healthy skin, and helps reduce excess sebum on the skin, one cause of acne.

*I only use Young Living essential oils due to their Seed-to-Seal quality. If you are looking for Young Living oils, I would love for you to contact me via email or in the comments section.

*I only use Young Living essential oils due to their Seed-to-Seal quality. If you are looking for Young Living oils, I would love for you to contact me via email or in the comments section.

So what do your kids use to wash their faces as they get older? What about your teenagers? Are you satisfied with what you are using or do you feel as though it is a constant trial?

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. do your boys know that you just told the world that you kiss them good night?
    I’m trying this recipe for mine! I have seen recipes with honey, and I’ve stayed away from them, because, well, the thought makes me fell a little, um, sticky. But with your recommendation, I’m going to use my children as guinea pigs and give it a try!

Any thoughts?

