The Girly’s 4th Birthday Party

IMG_0251She’s 4.  Four in my mind means she’s no longer a baby.  Not that she was a baby at 3, but certainly 3 seems right between toddler and preschooler and still just so little.  It’s bittersweet.  But for the record, she’ll always be my baby.

This year we told her she could have a birthday party with friends of her choice.  The first try making the invitation list caused me some emotional trauma.  She named her best friend, Amanda, from Georgia first and instead of moving towards some newer, local (local being key) she also wanted “Big” Rachel, a friend who is right between Bradford* and McCance* age-wise and has also always been part of our family group.  So after gathering myself and wiping tears, she was able to tell me the names of some kids she enjoyed spending time with and wanted at her party.

I actually love to plan parties and I think Cora* feels the same.  It appeared as though she had as much fun getting ready for her party as she did at her party.  We decided on a cupcake decorating theme.  She loves cooking and helping in the kitchen and decorating cakes.  Her first choice on her iPod time is finding cake decorating videos on YouTube.  Her love for frosting probably also contributed to this decision.  I made invitations on the computer using cupcake clip art and a short rhyme that I came up with.  I made some basic aprons for each guest.  The boys were not enthused even though I used masculine colors, but my girly loved hers.  We had fun picking out balloons, stickers for favors, sprinkles galore and making six different colors of frosting.  I don’t recall making that much buttercream at one time.  After crumb coating each cupcake, we divided it, colored it and added it to some plastic squeeze bottles.  I made 2 dozen regular size cupcakes and 4 dozen mini size.

IMG_0257

Can you see who sampled the frosting?

 

IMG_0258

All filled

 

IMG_0259

A little something for everyone to take home (crayon “muffins” and stickers)

 

Then she decided she wanted a jeans cake as in one of her favorite cake decorating videos.  So we mixed up this recipe for chocolate cake sans frosting.  It is easy and delicious.  Added her cupcake candles that she found for 75 cents at the Amish scratch and dent grocery and, voilà!  C’est fini.

IMG_0262

Although I was sad that our Georgia friends couldn’t attend because of distance, one redeeming thing was that my brother, sister-in-law, and my nieces and nephew were able to come.  That made the day special having family there and that cousin-time during and after the party and getting to share some of our family with our friends and vice versa.  And Leslie still was able to take part by listening to me bounce ideas around and making some wonderful suggestions.  I will probably never do a party without consulting my dear friend and partner in “crime.”  (We both like to taste the batter/dough before it’s baked.)

Cora conquers a cupcake coloring sheet.  (Couldn't resist the alliteration.)

Cora conquers a cupcake coloring sheet. (Couldn’t resist the alliteration.)

Lexi decorates hers with stickers.

Lexi decorates hers with stickers.

All of those colorful dishes--I miss Ikea!

All of those colorful dishes–I miss Ikea!

 

The aftermath of blue buttercream

The aftermath of blue buttercream

DSC09507

McCance appoints himself the gift assistant.

DSC_0214

Look at the smile a pony brings.

DSC_0219

Glitter glue and stickers–right up there with frosting and sprinkles for Cora.

DSC_0245

And the decorating begins!

And the decorating begins!

The bottles were slightly difficult for little hands to squeeze.

The bottles were slightly difficult for little hands to squeeze.

So most of them turned out like this. . .

So most of them turned out like this. . .

and this.  Love it!

and this. Love it!

A collection of cupcakes

A collection of cupcakes

I think these were Bradford's.

I think these were Bradford’s.

Our boy guests opted for playing with Matchbox first and then joined the decorating fun.

Our boy guests opted for playing with Matchbox first and then joined the decorating fun.

 

* I’ve given up on using nicknames for everyone I mention on this blog.  I’m not consistent enough to remember who is who on here!

One comment

  1. what a fun idea for her bday!! i love it – and the jeans cake..seriously. so cute! and she is just getting more and more beautiful every time i see a picture of her! i can’t believe she’s four already. wow. happy birthday, cora (a bit late!)!

Any thoughts?

