Girly Cake

Back in December, Mr. Detail secured me a gig decorating a cake for a co-worker’s daughter.  I’ve been decorating cakes since I took classes at age 12 or 13.  However, I’ve only done it for fun and for family and friends.  Never for pay!  I was pleased how it turned out, although I knew it wasn’t perfect.  It was a bit stressful, but I’d likely do it again because it was fun too.  I’m sticking to buttercream from here on out.  I had attempted to fashion the My Pretty Pony with fondant, but after some difficulties with it holding it’s shape I decided to go with what I know.  The cake itself was a from-scratch basic chocolate cake that is a tried-and-true recipe from Hershey’s.

IMG_0043IMG_0045

One comment

Any thoughts?

