Meaning

The title of this blog is La Quotidienne.  The word in English is quotidian. According to  the Merriam-Webster online dictionary it comes from the Latin quotidie, and means

1: occurring every day <quotidian fever>
2: a : belonging to each day : everyday <quotidian routine>
b : commonplace, ordinary <quotidian drabness>
quotidian noun
There is a lot of that around here in my little world.  All of the above.  I just finished washing dishes for the second time today and I’ll have one more round before bed.  Laundry.  Oh, my word!  I forgot it in the washer again.  I need to get out and hang the shirts and take advantage of the dry roaster that God has blessed us with today.  Then later I’ll take them back down and they’ll go into the appropriate closet.  Only to be worn and dirtied again.  Quotidian. Definition 1.
Today is a special day in the eyes of many Americans.  As much as I love France and all things French, I’m an American through and through.  If I’m not mistaken, my paternal grandmother’s family goes back to William Bradford. (And if I am mistaken, let me remain oblivious because that would deeply disappoint my oldest son.)  As a child and even now as an adult, I admit the first thing I think of that relates to Independence Day, more commonly called July 4th (which is silly because obviously it’s July 4th everywhere; July 4th doesn’t name the holiday), is fireworks.  I’ve looked forward to them every year of my life, minus a few when we had a thunderphobic dog who had seizures because he was so afraid.  When I was 6 my parents parked along side the road so I could see the fireworks display since I had chicken pox and they wanted to avoid exposing others.  They knew the fireworks were that important.  Not quotidian.  Definition 2b–commonplace; ordinary.
Also not quotidian to me is life overseas.  In uniform.  In the hot sun.  Hotter than this Independence Day in Missouri.   Or in the trenches of World War I.  Or on the beautiful, amazing beaches of Normandy.  Or in the freezing cold winters across Europe.  And on and on.  For that I am thankful.  A military life serving my country sounds very honorable, yet extremely unappealing.  I’ll take bickering children, sinks full of dirty dishes, long nights with sick kids or unsleepy babes, and even cleaning toilets after the kiddo has had the stomach bug for 3 days over what they must endure to keep freedom and the idea of freedom upheld.  And because that is true, I am committing to add yet another quotidian task to my life in my little world here.  I want to pray for those men and women who are serving now and those who have served in the military and for our country.  If at the very least, a generic, all inclusive prayer, but striving for more.  For one that would encourage just one man or one woman, who is looking beyond, outside his little space to continue striving for freedom for all.  Quotidian.  Definition 2a.  Belonging to each day.
We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.
—The Declaration of Independence (In Congress, July 4, 1776)
Thank you again, Ryan, for your post that was my wake-up call.  Check out Ryan’s blog here. (It’s nothing like mine, y’all.  Check it out.  He’ll make you laugh and cry.  Maybe all at once.  It’s far from my quotidian.  One reason I love it.)   And don’t forget to click on the button to help the Gowin family bring Solomon home!
Any thoughts?

