Input Needed!

Those who read a lot of children’s books can help me out.  I get to teach art to 5-7 year olds next year at co-op for 11 weeks.  I’m so excited!  I had originally planned to planned to use some major points in art history and have them make a piece using the same or a similar method.  Then as I was falling asleep I thought about this alternative:  using children’s books and the illustrator’s technique and the children to create something in a similar was as that illustrator.  I am starting by compiling a list of illustrators (some are the authors as well.)   I may or may not use them all.  Some may get 2 or more class periods, as we only have 45 minutes each week.

  • Eric Carle–My only definite one.
  • Sandra Boynton
  • Chris Raschka
  • Byron Barton
  • Jan Brett
  • Patricia Polacco
4 comments

  1. Hey Alisa,
    When I did this last year we also studied Ezra Jack Keats, Chris Van Allsburg, Wende and Harry Devlin, and Ron Barrett, illustrator of Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs. I think of anymore I will let you know. Sounds like you have a great list going…and it will be a blast to do!

Any thoughts?

