>Thai-Style Noodles

>My new-to-me recipe for this week was from Vegandad yet again. The Thai-style Sweet and Tangy Noodles, to be exact. Well, exact they were not because, as usual, I added, substituted, and so on. Not with the same abandon that I often do, but I did nonetheless. And they were delicious. My adjusted recipe is below. Once all the chopping is done it comes together quickly and even tastes good if you are a mom (or dad) and don’t seem to get to eat right away–meaning it’s good room temperature too.

Cook 8 oz rice noodles as directed and rinse in cold water.
Heat wok to medium-high heat. Add about 2 T oil.
Add 2 large garlic cloves, minced. Fry until aromatic.
Add cooled noodles and fry 1 minute.
Add 1/3 cup vegetable broth (I made mine with veggie bouillon.) Mix well.
Add 6 chopped green onions, 1 coarsely chopped tomato, 1/2 block cubed tofu, and 3/4 beans (I used black beans because they rock.) Also, 1 small chopped, yellow summer squash and about a cup of chopped fresh spinach. Stir fry for 1 minute.
Add about 1/4 cup brown sugar and 2 T soy sauce (I always use low sodium. The San-J brand has no preservatives or stuff that gives me migraines.) Combine well.
Add some black pepper and about 1 T white vinegar.

Oh, and it does make more than what the photo shows. I didn’t think to photograph it until after we’d had several servings!

Any thoughts?

