>Cheesy Vegetable Casserole

>This recipe originally called for American cheese. It came from a family friend, Wilma Neisler. My mom has had it for so long that I didn’t know it wasn’t hers to begin with until she told me today. I think several might raise their eyebrows when they see this is the first recipe I post here. It is not typical of things that I generally cook. But my mom makes it every year for Thanksgiving, tripling the recipe, and my cousin, Sara, had a taste for it, so I promised to get her the recipe. So here it is in it’s cheesy and full-of-cholesterol goodness. And note that I haven’t actually made this one, but I only cook in the déjà-vu style because that is how my mom taught me.

a little less than 1/2 pound of Velveeta
5-6 T butter or margarine
1 bag of frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrot mixture
not quite 1/2 roll of crushed Ritz crackers

Preheat oven to 350F. Thaw frozen vegetables in the microwave on paper towels. Blot excess moisture with more paper towels. Cut any extra large pieces into a smaller size. Place in a 2 quart casserole dish.

Cube Velveeta cheese. Put in saucepan with 4 T butter and melt. (I imagine you could also do this step in the microwave.) Stir and pour cheese mixture over the vegetables. Mix together. Melt 1-2 T butter and stir into crushed Ritz crumbs. Sprinkle over the top of the vegetable mixture. Bake uncovered for 25 minutes or until browned.

One comment

  1. >haha! wow, not healthy at all, but it sure is yummy! now i just have to run to the store and get the stuff. i'm excited to visit back for other "more healthy" recipes…i'm always on the hunt!

Any thoughts?

